By Steve Yingling, Western Nevada College
Driver Education courses presented by Western Nevada College are available in two separate sessions at Fernley High School.
Teens age 15 and older can choose between a Saturday session that starts on Oct. 22 or a daily session that begins on Tuesday, Jan. 3.
Each session includes four days of instruction, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and the cost is $100.
In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the course covers how to handle distractions and peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel or driving under the influence. Speakers include public safety officials and insurance representatives. Instruction includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles, and how to avoid unexpected objects in the road, as well as maneuvering safely through roundabouts, and rules for driving in bad weather.
WNC is also offering an Online 30-Hour New Driver Education class for $90. This course provides a solid foundation of the knowledge and skills necessary for to become a safe driver. Register at any time. Students have 60 days from the date of registration to complete the course.
Nevada state law requires new drivers younger than 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.
For more information, call 775-445-4463 or go to www.campusce.net/wnc/course/course.aspx?catId=7. To enroll in a class, go to http://abcduionline.coursewebs.com/cart/pageCourseInfo.aspx?Course_ID=DriverEdWNC&add_to_cart=1.
Driver Ed Classes:
- Saturdays, Oct. 22-Dec. 3, 2016, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Note: No classes on Oct. 29, Nov. 12 and Nov. 26.
- Tuesday through Friday, Jan. 3-6, 2017, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.