FHS senior athletic awards

Robert Perea, The Fernley Reporter

Ren Arroyo and Sam Ramirez were named Fernley High School’s top male senior athletes for 2016-17, while Grace DeLeon and Brooke Chapin shared the award as the top female senior athletes.

Arroyo and Ramirez were named the co-winners of the 2016-17 Iron Man Award, while DeLeon and Chapin were co-winners of the Iron Woman Award.

Iron Man/Woman goes to the highest achieving senior athletes who are 4-year three-sport athletes and takes into account each person’s successes as an athlete, leader and student.


“This year we had co-Iron Man and co-Iron Woman because we had so many highly qualified student-athletes,” athletic director Jeff Knutson said.

Similarly, there were several qualified candidates for the Brian Beaty Award, which was presented to Taylor Richardson and Justin Turner.

The Brian Beaty Award is presented to the senior athletes who have achieved the most despite limitations or obstacles. It is named after former Fernley football player Brian Beaty, who overcame injuries throughout his career to become an all-league player as a senior. He was later killed in a car crash.

Linda Barba and Pete Jackson were named Fans of the Year.

“Pete and Linda have given hundreds of hours of dedication to athletics at FHS for the sake of our school and our student-athletes,” Knutson said. “Pete announces games year around and Linda is instrumental in running our concession stands. They attend athletic activities whether or not their grandchildren are involved.”

Other four-year, three-sport athletes were also recognized: A.C. Reyes, Hailey Grooms, Breanna McFarlane, Tyler Kollar, Ali Conder, Taylor Richardson and Justin Turner.

2016-17 Senior Awards
Iron Man Lorenzo Arroyo
Iron Man Samuel Ramirez
Iron Woman Grace De Leon
Iron Woman Brooke Chapin
Brian Beatty Taylor Richardson
Brian Beatty Justin Turner
4 year Tri-Athlete AC Reyes
4 year Tri-Athlete Hailey Grooms
4 year Tri-Athlete Breanna McFarlane
4 year Tri-Athlete Tyler Kollar
4 year Tri-Athlete Ali Conder
4 year Tri-Athlete Taylor Richardson
4 year Tri-Athlete Justin Turner
Fan of the Year Linda Barba
Fan of the Year Pete Jackson


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *