Fernley Republican Women to host candidate forums

Robert Perea, The Fernley Reporter

The Fernley Republican Women will host a pair of candidate forums at their April and May meetings.

On April 17, the FRW will host candidates for the Lyon County Commission, while the forum for the candidates for Fernley Mayor and City Council will be held May 15.

Both forums will be part of the regular meetings of the Fernley Republican Women, who meet at 6 p.m. in the Fernley High School Library.


There are three candidates for the County Commission District II seat. Incumbent Don Alt has been challenged by Vida Keller, who held the District II seat before being defeated by Alt in 2014, and Raymond Nivens of Fernley.

District V Commissioner Greg Hunewill is unopposed.

In Fernley, Mayor Roy Edgington is being challenged by Tim Bickerton and Ryan Hanan. A fourth candidate, Leo Mayfield, originally filed for election, but has backed out of the race.

There is a four-person race for the City Council Ward 1 seat. Incumbent Shari Whalen has been challenged by Barry Williams Sr., Ray Lacy and Richard Jones.

Ward 3 Councilman Stan Lau is unopposed in his bid for reelection.

In other races, seven candidates have filed to run for the North Lyon County Fire Protection District Board of Directors, where two seats are up for grabs. Director Jon Osborn is unable to run because of term limits, and incumbent Vern Watson is joined by Terrin Hicks, Matthew Johnson, Chris Murphy, Sue Seidl, Dean Sheldon and Kevin Standlee.

Lyon County School District Trustee Neal McIntyre of Fernley is unopposed in his bid for reelection, as is Bridget Peterson of Dayton. Cassandra Aveiro and Barbara Jones are running for the District IV seat, representing Silver Springs and Stagecoach.

Three candidates, Doug Brunson, Frank Hunewill and Greg Kantz, have stepped up to challenge Sheriff Al McNeil’s bid for reelection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *