Community Events

Fernley Republican Women 2018 officers sworn in

Robert Perea, The Fernley Reporter

The Fernley Republican Women’s 2018 officers were sworn in during their annual Christmas/Installation Dinner on Dec. 16 at The Golf Club at Fernley.

Third Judicial District Court Judge Leon Aberasturi administered the Oath of Office to the incoming officers.

The officers for 2018 are Lorrie Olson, President; MJ Dodson, 1st Vice President; Joy Connelly, 2nd Vice President; Peggy Gray, Secretary; and Kim Bussey-Paxton, Treasurer.


Approximately 60 guests were on hand to congratulate the new officers.

In addition, several members were recognized for their contributions during the past year.

Fernley Republican Women 2017 Awards

Lorrie Olson – Parliamentarian, By-Laws Chair, Ways & Means Co-Chair

Joy Connelly – Hospitality Co-Chair, Ways & Means Garage Sale

Judy Williams – Americanism

Mary Fimbres – Ways & Means Garage Sale

Peggy Gray – Acting Secretary, Achievement Chair, Campaign Chair, Legislation Chair, Literacy Chair, Budget Chair, Christmas/Installation Chair

Anita Trone – Publicity/Outreach Chair, Newsletter Chair, Leadership Chair, Nominations Chair, Audit Chair

Kim Bussey-Paxton – Treasurer

Terri Schlegel – Ways & Means Garage Sale Chair

Betty Mayne – Chaplain, Caring for America Chair, Armed Forces/Homeland Security Chair, Hospitality Chair, Opportunity Drawing Chair

Nancy Donohue – 2nd Vice President

Joy Hidek – Secretary

Julianne Colombe – Website/Facebook Chair, Ways & Means Co-Chair

Karen Smyser – Historian

Vida Keller – 1st Vice President, Fourth of July Co-Chair

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *