Edgington reelected, Whalen to face Lacy in November

Robert Perea, The Fernley Reporter

By receiving more than 50 percent of the primary election vote, Fernley mayor Roy Edgington was reelected Tuesday night in the 2018 Nevada Primary Election.

Edgington received 1,421 votes, out of 2,640 total votes cast, or 53.8 percent, to win the seat without facing the general election in November. Primary Election candidates who receive more than 50 percent of the primary vote are elected without advancing to the general election.

Tim Bickerton finished second in Tuesday’s primary election with 615 votes, while Ryan Hanan was third with 604.


In the race for the City Council Ward 1 seat, Shari Whalen and Ray Lacy advance to square off in November.

Whalen received 194 votes, while Lacy was second with 189, Rick Jones finished third with 92 and Barry Williams received 41 votes.

City Council Ward 3 incumbent Stan Lau was unopposed and will retain his seat in November.

Matt Johnson, Sue Seidl, Terrin Hicks and Chris Murphy will be the four candidates advancing to the November General Election for two seats on the North Lyon County Fire Protection District Board of Directors.

Johnson was the top vote getter with 876 votes, Seidl was second with 767, Hicks was third with 704 and Murphy narrowly claimed fourth with 587 votes. Dean Sheldon came in fifth with 579, incumbent Vern Watson received 500 votes and Kevin Standlee got 276.

Vida Keller regained the Lyon County Commission District II seat she lost to Don Alt in 2014. In a race where no Democrat filed, Keller won the Republican primary, and thus the seat, with 2,173 votes. Alt finished second with 1,815 votes and Ray Nivens was third with 1,366.

Sheriff Al McNeil and challenger Frank Hunewill will square off in November. McNeil won Tuesday’s primary, but failed to get 50 percent of the vote, so the top two finalists will advance to the November ballot. McNeil received 4,317 votes, while Hunewill finished second with 2,856. Doug Brunson finished third with 904 votes and Greg Kantz came in fourth with 660.

In other countywide races, Nikki Bryan wins reelection as Lyon County Clerk-Treasurer, winning the Republican primary with 4,249 votes over Kimber L.A. Crabtree, who received 1,134. No Democrat also ran in that race.

Likewise, Margie Kassebaum won the race for Lyon County Recorder, receiving 2,910 votes, to 2,426 for Stephen Wood.

Canal Township Justice of the Peace candidate Lori Matheus, School District Trustees Neal McIntyre of Fernley and Bridget Peterson were all unopposed.

Fernley resident Leon Aberasturi fell short in his run for a seat on the Nevada Supreme Court. Aberasturi finished fifth in a six-candidate race for Seat C on the Supreme Court, with 32,881 votes, or 11.43 percent of total votes cast. Aberasturi won six counties, but received more than 55,000 fewer votes than winner Elissa Cadish in Clark County.

Final Results

Fernley mayor

Roy Edgington 1,421, 53.8 percent

Tim Bickerton 615

Ryan Hanan 604

Fernley City Council Ward 1

Shari Whalen 194

Ray Lacy 189

Rick Jones 92

Barry Williams 41

North Lyon County Fire Protection District

Matt Johnson 876

Sue Seidl 767

Terrin Hicks 704

Chris Murphy 587

Dean Sheldon 579

Vern Watson 500

Kevin Standlee 276

Lyon County Commission Dist. II

Vida Keller 2,173

Don Alt 1,815

Ray Nivens 1,366

Lyon County Sheriff

Al McNeil 4,317

Frank Hunewill 2,856

Doug Brunson 904

Greg Kantz 660

Lyon County Clerk-Treasurer

Nikki Bryan 4,249

Kimber LA Crabtree 1,134

Lyon County Recorder

Margie Kassebaum 2,910

Stephen Wood 2,426

Canal Township Justice of the Peace

Lori Matheus 2,316

School District Trustee Dist. II

Neal McIntyre 7,669

School District Trustee Dist. VI

Bridget Peterson 7,650

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *