City of FernleyGovernment

City, county races set for Primary election


Robert Perea, The Fernley Reporter

Three city council races, four county commission seats and a handful of other races in Lyon County are set for this June’s Primary election.

The Primary election is set for June 9, but will be conducted by mail ballots due to the coronavirus outbreak, which has prevented election training for poll workers.

Three Fernley City Council seats are up for election.


In Ward 2, where Shellie Severa has been appointed to complete the rest of the year in the seat vacated by Dan McCassie, who moved out of the Ward, Severa will be seeking election and is challenged by Felicity Zoberski, Donald Parsons and L. Michelle de St. Maurice

In Ward 4, incumbent Albert Torres, who was appointed to fill the seat vacated when Sue Seidl moved out of state, will square off against William Burrows.

The other race is in Ward 5, where incumbent councilwoman Fran McKay is challenged by Augustine (Auggie) Rodriguez, Christopher Ward and McCassie.

Four of the five Lyon County Commission seats are up for grabs, and two of them will be decided in the primary.

In Commission District 3, incumbent Ken Gray and challenger Gary Gladwill, both Republicans from Dayton, will battle in the primary, with the winner running unopposed in the November General election.

The same applies in Commission District 5, where three Republicans, David Hockaday of Wellington, Clifford Thompson and Ricky Ortega, who provided an address in Redding, Calif, will vie for the seat, with the winner of the primary taking the seat.

Two races will advance to the general election.

In District 1 Democrat Leandra Carr of Dayton and Republican Wes Henderson of Dayton will bypass the primary and square off in the general election, while in District 4, Republicans Rob Jacobson and David Thomas will battle in the primary, with the winner facing Cody Wagner, a nonpartisan candidate, in the general election.

All four Lyon County School District races feature unopposed candidates. Incumbent School District Trustees Sherry Parsons of Fernley, Holly Villines of Yerington and Kimber Crabtree of Smith Valley are unopposed, while in District 3 Phil Cowee of Dayton is the only candidate to fill the seat being vacated by John Stevens, who has served his maximum three terms.

There are seven candidates filed for three seats on North Lyon County Fire Protection District Board of Directors. Incumbents Dan McCassie, Pat Hon and Willliam Riesen will be joined on the ballot by Jay Rodriguez, Paul Murphy, Harry Wheeler and Ray Block.

Fernley Swimming Pool District incumbents Cheryl Howell and Nancy Clarke are each seeking reelection and will be joined on the ballot by Helen Brooks, Janie Jude-Askew and Dena Lopez.

One thought on “City, county races set for Primary election

  • Chris Ward

    What does it cost for an “Advertisement” on your site?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *