37 Lyon County students graduate from WNC Jump Start program

Robert Perea, The Fernley Reporter

Since its inception, Lyon County Schools and students have embraced the Western Nevada College Jump Start program.

WNC created its Jump Start College in 2014 to help more students earn a college degree while also making it so more high school students could afford a college education. Students receive dual high school and college credits, and those who complete the requirements graduate with an Associates Degree.

WNC’s 2022 Jump Start graduating class of 110 students represents 10 high schools and two academies. Of those, 37 come from Lyon County high schools, including 10 from Fernley.


Jump Start grads represented Carson, Churchill County, Dayton, Douglas, Fernley, Pyramid Lake, Silver Stage, Smith Valley, Virginia City and Yerington high schools, as well as Oasis and Nevada Virtual academies.

The grads were recognized during WNC’s 51st Commencement, which included drive-through ceremonies on May 23-24 on the Carson campus and May 26 on the Fallon campus.

WNC’s 2022 Jump Start graduating class includes:

Carson High School

Lauren Abbott, Nasser Abdelhady, Haylee Busby, Sophie Camelon, Jacob Campbell, Ethne Myler, Nereida Rivera, Raychel Roylance, Stevi Simmons, Olivia Smith, Clare Stephenson, Hamza Syed, Nathan Thornton

Churchill County High School

Zoey Brown, Rosalyn Cornejo, Elvira Correa, Logan Johnson, Sam Lee, Britney McArthur, Hailey Penfold, Lainee Reid, Nelly Ruiz, Madeline Stephens

Dayton High School

Alexander Anguiano, Chelsea Boone, Hailey Estrada, Gessica Gladwill, Robert Harrison, Benit Hensley, Ethan Kanter, Kimberlynn Koback, Brenden Larkin, Amanda Loberg, Azurine Mandeville, Samuel Matthews, Alissa Paterson, Tyler Quick, Charles Reyes, JuanManuel Torres, Katelyn Trubitsky, Kirsten Workman

Douglas High School

Andrew Clutts, Sophia Garedakis, Tirza Keating, Barrett Lee, Elliana Purvance Luce

Fernley High School

Ellie Bassett, Cailynne Bixby, Alexandra Brown, Donna Dastrup, Sarah Donley, Broderick Garrett, Leahi Hale, Allyssa Mathern, Zoie Miranda, Persephone Mulei

Nevada Virtual Academy

Abbey Barry, Rebecca Croswhite, Ashley Goldstein, Tianna Jones, Keaghen Lloyd, Abigail Lorenzo, Logan Novero, Tania Rose, Natasha Shaghoian, Jared Ghil Trovela, Nia Williams

Oasis Academy

Hunter Arends, Rachel Bake, Jelen Rose Bayoneta, Brayden Blea, Joshua Bloomfield, Gavin Bracken, Madison Davis, Tayler Felton, Evelin Gomez, Nallely Gomez, Grace Griswold, Lauren Halloran, Trevor Halloran, Heidi Hansen, Kaitlyn Hert, Isabella Leal, Jaylee McEwen, Khang Nguyen, Connor Oceguera, Kailyn Sorensen, Andreah Stacey, Maiya Swan, Katherine Tejeda, Joshua Youles

Pyramid Lake High School

Tyger Hunter

Silver Stage High School

Ryu Crank, Aubrey Damm, Timothy Maguire, Logen Ornelas, Perla Rodriguez, Dylan Volkov

Smith Valley High School

Colin Unruh, Aspen Wright

Virginia City High School

Jamie Babb, Gwenyth Fahrney, Aaron Goff, Morgan Kitchens, Allison Rank, Emma Rodriguez, Daniel Ruebusch, Jeslyn Stammer, Faith Williams

Yerington High School

Vincent Scatena

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *