Sprint cars and midgets visit 95A Speedway

Courtesy Dan McGee,

After being dark since last fall the Fernley 95A Speedway came alive this weekend. The event was round 10 of the Sprint Car Challenge, which usually races in the Northern California region.

Not only did the event attract what may have been the largest crowd of fans to the track but 27 sprint car teams as well as five from the Bay Cities Racing Association (BCRA) were on hand. And several of the early arrivals took advantage of the free test sessions on Friday.

After qualifying, heats and a dash the 21-car sprint car was filled and ready to go.


“Glad we were able to get it in and had fun running with Buddy there. Have to dedicate this one to Jeffe, our truck driver as he’s like family to me, he just got diagnosed with cancer this week and it’s really hurting us not having him here. I hope he’s watching, hope he’s happy and he’s got a smile on his face,” Shane Golobic said after winning the A main.

Then he thanked his car owner Keith Davis of Keith Davis Trucking and Elk Grove Ford for supplying the engines in the car.

Before the main began all the cars lined up on the front stretch for introductions. Then after they were all push started as these cars have no starters the field lined up for the traditional 4-wide salute to the fans.

After that they formed in their two rows for the start of the 35-lap A main.

When the green waved, sending the racers on their way Michael “Buddy” Kofoid led the charge with Golobic right behind him. Running third was points leader Kyle Hirst with the pack right behind him.

After about five or six laps the leaders began catch lap traffic. Right about that time Gologic took advantage of a slight mistake Kofoid made and grabbed the lead.

Without radios or mirrors it gets a bit tricky for the faster driver to lap the slower ones.

“We had to figure out how to get a good run down the straightaway and sneak under them to show them you were there so they can kind of change their line a little bit and get out of your way,” Golobic said. “But passing Buddy there for the lead was really tough, really had to get a good drive off the corner and beat him to the next one.”

Not far behind the lead duo was points leader Kyle Hirst. At one time he closed in on Kofoid but was never able to really catch him.

There was a caution in the first half of the race then a few in the last laps. In one of them then only Nevada driver in the field, Mark Tabor Jr. spun in Turn 2 but after getting a push start was off and running.

Unfortunately, he also ran over something that gave a slow leak in his right rear tire and that eventually put him out of the race.

With two to go there were a pair of cautions, but in the end Golobic was able to out gun Kofoid on the restarts and claimed the victory. Kofoid settled for the runner up spot ahead of Hirst.

Asked about his race Kofoid, who is a 15-year-old driver said, “We just barely slipped up in traffic and Shane got by so we just hung on for second. Wish we could have gotten it done at Dan’s track but we’ll take another podium.”

Dan Simpson owns the track and Kofoid races for him and gave thanks for his support as well as sponsors Gary Silver Wrenches as well as Show and Paint Center.

Supporting the sprint cars were five entries from the Bay City Racing Association (BCRA). They race Midgets while the Sprint Car Challenge races 350 Sprint Cars.

Winning the BCRA main, a 20-lap affair, was Michael Faccento. Points leader Maria Cofer did her best but just couldn’t catch him and had to settle for second.

The ageless Floyd Alvis finished third while Bobby Wilson, the only Nevada driver in that field, ended up fourth.

Everyone seemed pleased with the track and expressed hope that the Sprint Car Challenge Tour will return next year to 95A Speedway.

Sprint Car Challenge Tour - Round 10
+ Heat Race Winners: #1 Shane Golobic, #2 Kyle Offill, #3 Willie Croft, #4 Cory Eliason.
+ Dash: 1. Michael "Buddy" Kofoid, 2. Shane Golobic, 3. Willie Croft, 4. Kyle Hirst, 5. Mason Moore, 6. Cory Eliason, 7.Justyn Cox, 8. Steven Tiner.
+ B Main* (15-Laps): 1. Mitchell Faccinto, 2. D.J.Netto, 3. Tony Gualda Jr., 4. Dustin Golobic, 5. Zach Lynskey, 6. Jodie Robinson, 7. Daniel Keen, 8. Orry Stevens.
 * - Top six transfer into the A Main.
+ A Main (35-Laps): 1. Shane Golobic, 2. Michael Kofoid, 3. Kyle Hirst, 4. Cory Eliason, 5. Justyn Cox, 6. Steven Tiner, 7. Michell Faccinto, 8. Willie Croft, 9. Andy Gregg, 10. Ryan Bernal, 11. D.J. Netto, 12. Kyle Offill, 13. Kalib Henry, 14. Mason Moore, 15. Cody Lamar, 16. Tony Gualda Jr., 17. Jodie Robinson, 18. Zach Lynskey, 19. Dustin Golobic, 20. Colby Copeland, 21. Mark Tabor Jr., 22. Ryan Robinson.
BCRA Midgets
+ Heat Race: 1. Michael Faccento, 2. Maria Coffer, 3. Bobby Wilson, 4. Floyd Alvis
+ Main (20-Laps): 1. Michael Faccento, 2. Maria Coffer, 3. Floyd Alvis, 4. Bobby Wilson, 5. J.R. Williams.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *